My Honeybees

Backyard Beekeeping

Dealing with mold in hive

Leave a comment

On Friday I went to my second year beekeeping class and asked about the mold in the hive. I was told to put a small spacer between the lid and the inside cover to increase circulation of air in the hive. I put 4 pennies, one on each corner under the lid, last week and now it seems fine. There is still a small amount of mold but it is not growing. Today I will take out the frames with mold and set them in the sun for a few hours.  The forecast today is going to be clear and in the 60’s,  I will do my hive check and spring clean up of the hive at about noon.

Leave a Reply

